Smile

January 3, 2011

THE FUTURE

So, I like this idea of a Topic of the day that the WordPress blog posts everyday for the rest of the year. Although I didn’t sign up to do a post a day because i know that once school starts back it will be near impossible to post every day, I will post as often as the mood strikes me. Today’s topic was “Name something that makes you smile”. Well, I have a lot of things that make me smile like God, friends, and family to start. However, I will have several posts in the future to be serious and sentimental. So, a random funny thing that makes me smile is Google. Even the word is funny enough to make you smile. Some say that Google is making us stupid and perhaps that is true, but I am thankful for Google at times. It is amazing that we basically have the world’s knowledge at our fingertips if we phrase our query correctly. I am a fan of the Vlogbrothers on you tube (look them up!) and recently one of the brothers made a Google Rant Video. In the video, Hank plays a game with Google by entering in certain words and seeing what the Instant search feature suggests. So, I decided that I would play my version of that game for this blog using the Five/Six W’s:  Who, What, When, Where, Why, and How.

I will search the first word in Google, post the top query, and attempt (haha) to answer the question. Here we go:

Who owns my heart?  Well, I would say that God owns my heart and anyone on earth just rents it.

What is my ip? Umm…I admit that when I saw this, I had to look up what ip meant and realized that it was IP address. So, to answer the question, I have no idea.

When is daylight savings? In the spring, it begins at 2:00 am on the second Sunday in March.  It, thankfully, ends at 2:00 am last Sunday of October usually (Last year it was the first Sunday of November)

Where is chuck norris? This was actually the second query behind “Where do i vote”, but I liked this one SO much better. I assume that wherever Chuck is he is roundhouse kicking like crazy and taking names.

Why is the sky blue? I had such a smartalec remark to this, but the science nerd in me wants to look up the real answer. So, I found that:

Rayleigh scattering causes light to scatter when it p­asses through particles that have a diameter one-tenth that of the wavelength (color) of the light. Sunlight is made up of all different colors of light, but because of the elements in the atmosphere the color blue is scattered much more efficiently than the other colors.

When you look at the sky on a clear day, you can see the sun as a bright disk. The blueness you see everywhere else is all of the atoms in the atmosphere scattering blue light toward you. Because red light, yellow light, green light and the other colors aren’t scattered nearly as well, you see the sk­y­ as blue.

Thank you, http://science.howstuffworks.com

How to tie a tie? I just ask my guy friends.

I hope you enjoyed this game as much as i did. I would love to see if the query/questions change as people search. So, I will probably do this again. And i would love to see you do your own version of the Google game!

One Response to “Smile”

  1. Dr. Skeptic Says:

    Hey there blog bud! Great reading! You need an about page, a contact page and a subscribe option for your readers! So go ahead, and make them. Meanwhile, I will add you to my list of blog buddies on the right hand sidebar of my blog. Do check it out. We could keep each other going with blogging once you start med school: that’s when all hell shall set loose in your life. I know it. I was there, once upon a time, not so long ago! LOLz 🙂

Leave a Reply

