Viva La Vida

January 29, 2011

Well, I almost missed a week already. A lot has happened this week and it has been hard to gather my thoughts to post. So, I am posting at 10:30 on (what some would say….) is the last day of the week. All through the week, I have seen the topic suggestions for each day and I always thought it would be nice to write something, but I haven’t had the time.

This week I had my last medical school interview and I absolutely fell in love with the school. The school is ten hours away from my hometown, but the school is everything I want: Fun people who are dedicated to service and medicine. I felt right at home and the facilities were GORGEOUS! It is weird, though, how I can be so decided yet undecided at the same time. I feel like the choice I make for medical school will direct the rest of my life either good or bad. I am so afraid of making the wrong choice that I was almost hoping that I would not get a choice at all. However, I am thankful that I did get a choice and I feel like I might have found the place I want to spend the next four years.

To respond to one of this week’s topics; Do you want to life forever? I would say not this life on Earth. I would like the eternal life the Bible speaks of with no more pain and sorrow. But this Earth is so horrible and sad at times that it would be depressing to life forever in it. However, I fully advocate living life to the fullest. That was something that was made clear to me as I visited my last medical school this week. I always thought that life would end when I get to medical school. But my idea of that is changing. The students I met were not dead (well, I didn’t meet any 3rd years…) and they really seemed to be enjoying life. I know medical school is difficult, but maybe it is not the kiss of death to my social life as I thought it would be. I don’t know if it is just this school or the future in general, but I am really excited about life. A concept that has been harder for me these past two years. Maybe one post I will spend talking about my wonderful grandmother, but her death had and still has an effect on me. Thankfully, time does heal some.

Along with being excited about life is not letting my last semester work block me from enjoying these people I will only be with for a short time. A theme I am sure you all are getting sick of hearing me say, but let that be a warning to you. Time passes quickly so if you are in college, high school, or just life in general, do NOT forget to love the people you are with. Because even if it is your spouse or parents that you think will be around forever, the truth is that they won’t. We do not live forever on this Earth. So, make the best of the life that you are given because you only have one life to live.

Good night and have a great week!

Leave a Reply

