100 Years

February 13, 2011

I am not doing very good at this post a week thing, but once my senior seminar is over I plan to worry less and enjoy life more. It has been a hectic, but wonderful first 5 weeks of school. For one, I can’t believe that it has been 5 weeks already. I am excited about the next chapter of life, but I am nervous about the future also. I guess that’s why today’s topic has struck me so post worthy. “What would i say to myself if i could go ten years into the past?” Well, I am going to answer that and take it a step further by writing to myself 10 years into the future as well.

So here we go:

Dear 11 year old me,
I know you are all excited about graduating 6th grade in a couple of months. It is a great
experience,but enjoy elementary while you can. Unfortunately, you will never have recess
again after this year.The people you thought were your friends will start to act weird
and mean because they think they are "cooler" that way. But don't do that.
Look around at the friends you have and cherish the ones who have always been there
because 10 years from now, they actually will still be there. So treat them better.
Don't take yourself too seriously and enjoy every experience you can.
Except don't try out for the Jr. High cheer leading team. You are better than that and
you are just going to get discouraged and make you feel bad about yourself.
Try focusing on your grades and schoolwork. 7th grade is going to be a little challenging,
so, work hard. You are going to medical school someday! You should probably start earlier
than I did caring about your grades. Oh, and don't quit piano.
You are just going to end up doing it off and on for the next 1o years
and retaking lessons at my age. So, I'm sure there are a lot of things I could tell you,
but somethings you need to experience so that you can become me.
However, the last advice I'll give you, young one, is
don't waste your time and energy on the jerks you will meet in the next 10 years.
I haven't found a special someone yet, but I hate the energy I spent caring about
some of the jokers you are about to meet. Believe me, love will come just be patient.
Well, I have to go. Enjoy life and every moment. Love God and love people.
Love,

21 year old me

Now, to the future:

Dear 31 year old me,
You have to understand how weird I feel writing to myself in the future. I have lots of questions and I would really love if you could write to yourself 10 years ago and let me know what is in store for the next 10 years. But I guess you are a doctor now and I hope that you are married, but if not that’s okay. And if you are married, do i have any children yet? I would assume that you would tell me some of the same things that I told my 11 year old self. About enjoying life and cherishing my real friends. There’s probably some more jokers in my future that I’ve wasted time on, but hopefully my broken road is leading us somewhere. I hope that I have kept in touch with my friends from college. I don’t know how much they mean to you, but they mean a lot to me right now. And I hope that the friends I made in medical school are good people. I hope that I am fluent in Spanish and I have been back to Africa at least once. (If not living there right now…) I hope that wherever I am, I am helping people through medicine and touching lives. I know that God is still a major part of my life and I hope that my parents are somewhere near. I guess my biggest hope is that you are a better person than I am today, but still down to earth,  fun loving, and hopeful. I hope that life has not beaten you to the point where I am none of those things 10 years from now. I believe that the best is yet to come for both us.
Please respond. Love God and love people. Stay true to us.
Sincerely,
21 year old me
Leave a Reply

